leer leer
   
 

Candomblé Rhythms
Workshop for atabaques and congas

22.09. - 24.09.2023

Dive deep into Brazilian music culture and learn about the ritual drums of the Candomblé. This workshop offers the rare opportunity to get to know the ritual rhythms and songs of this Afro-Brazilian tradition, which have huge significance for and also strongly influence modern Brazilian music. Dudu will be teaching a range of Candomblé and Umbanda rhythms providing an introduction to the musical principals of this traditional music style.

Candomblé drums

The main instruments are atabaques and congas, which are played with hands or sticks or a combination of both, depending on the tradition. All variations of hand and stick techniques will be taught. Solo-phrasings focus on improvisational skills. The atabaques and conga voices will be complemented with agogô and xequerê lines. The respective songs will be taught along to the percussion music in Portuguese and Yoruba. A limited number of congas can be reserved; the atabaques we have available will be used in the workshop.

CD-Tip: Dudu's lifelong work with the music of the Afro-Brazilian religions has resulted in two CDs: Amacy (2005) is a collection of Umbanda music and Orishas (1994) which focusses on Candomblé. You can find both CDs on Spotify.

Contact us at info@pac-berlin.de if you have any questions or book directly here.

   
 
Times:
Fr. 22.09. | 18:00 – So. 24.09.2023 | 12:00
Lesson time 13 Hrs.
Instruments
registration
Costs:
155 €
Location:
PAC NORD Berlin
Granatenstr. 4, 13409 Berlin

Rituelle RhythmenCandomblé Rhythmen
Workshop für Atabaques und Congas

07.10. - 09.10.2016

Dieser Workshop bietet die seltene Gelegenheit, die rituellen Rhythmen und Lieder der afrobrasilianischen Tradition kennen zu lernen, die eine enorme Bedeutung für die moderne brasilianische Musik haben. Dudu wird verschiedene interessante und komplexe Rhythmen des Candomblé und der Umbanda einstudieren und dabei in die musiklaischen Prinzipien dieser traditionellen Musikstile einführen.

Das Hauptinstrument sind Atabaques und Congas, die je nach Stilrichtung mit den Händen oder mit Sticks gespielt werden. Beide Varianten werden vermittelt und sowohl die Hand- als auch die Sticktechnik unterrichtet. Während die Solophrasierungen das Improvisationsvermögen schulen, lassen sich die Begleitstimmen auch auf diverse Instrumente übertragen. Ergänzt werden die Atabaques und Congas von Agogô und Xequerê, dazu werden Lieder in afrikanischer und portugiesischer Sprache gesungen. Eine begrenzte Anzahl and Congas kann rerserviert werden und die vorhandenen Atabaques werden in den Unterricht einbezogen.

CD-Tipp: Dudus lebenslange Beschäftigung mit der Musik der afrobrasilianischen Religionen führte bereits zu zwei CDs: Die 2005 erschienene CD Amacy versammelt Umbanda-Musik und bereits 1994 erschien die Candomblé-CD Orishas.

   
 
Zeiten:
Fr 07.10. 18 Uhr – So 09.10.2016, 13 Uhr
Unterrichtszeit 13 Std.
Instrumente
anmelden
Kosten:
145 €
Kursort:
Percussion Art Center (PAC)
Schwiebusser Str. 16, 10965 Berlin
   
 

Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten werden bei Anmeldung mitgeteilt